sorinmustaca.com – Sorin Mustaca – personal blog. Security software, agile development, scrum, programming and more

Google Plus and usability (part 1): can’t write a message to a single person

13.07.2011 (9:52 pm) – Filed under: googleplus

So, I finally got an invitation to use the Google Plus.

I will not comment about this service because a lot has been written, but I will comment on its usability.

Here are the most nerving issues which the Product Managers from Google seem to have not understood:

I want to write to a friend a direct message without having to create a circle with only 1 user.

I click on the name and I expect to be able to interact with the user.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And surprise… there is no way to do this …

To compare it with Facebook, if you click on a username, you can write on the Wall of the respective person.

Will write more here :-)

Vote for my pictures

18.05.2011 (12:56 pm) – Filed under: Uncategorized

Click on this link: http://www.breitling.com/contest/vote.php?u=658025144

Login on Facebook and vote my pictures either one by one  or all at once:

http://apps.facebook.com/breitling/votepic.php?id=3648

http://apps.facebook.com/breitling/votepic.php?id=3647

http://apps.facebook.com/breitling/votepic.php?id=3646

http://apps.facebook.com/breitling/votepic.php?id=3645

 

If I get enough votes I might get a voucher to get a flight license.

 

This is how you vote:

1. Go here: http://www.breitling.com/contest/vote.php?u=658025144

2. You are asked to login to Facebook. Please login.

3. You are presented this page:

Depending on your Facebook settings, you might have to Like the page first and then click on Vote in order to see the photos.

 

4. Click on each picture. Note that you will see on you Facebook Wall that you voted for me.

 

Question: Do you make backups ?

16.05.2011 (8:33 pm) – Filed under: question

Do you make backups ?

Please answer on Facebook : http://on.fb.me/l8NCmy

Question: Do you configure your antivirus product ?

16.05.2011 (8:32 pm) – Filed under: question

Please answer here on Facebook : http://on.fb.me/lBFoFD

Quoted by softpedia.com

17.08.2010 (1:23 pm) – Filed under: antivirus,News,Spam & Phishing

Softpedia took again one of my posts in the Avira Techblog and wrote an article based on it:

“In the recent past we saw emails looking like phishing mails, which were spam though actually. The spammers tried to make them look as much as possible as official mails from the entity they were faking: Amazon, Twitter, Facebook, and so on,” Sorin Mustaca, manager of international software development at Avira, warns.

“[Full name] has sent you a message” the rogue communication, which appears to originate from Facebook, reads. However, instead of the actual message, the recipient is presented with an image promoting various male enhancement pills.

“We checked about 100 different emails in this category and all of them use the same domain. We were curious and investigated who owns the domain – the domain is registered in China by a single registrar who owns 14 thousands other domains,” Mr. Mustaca notes.

Avira has an official Facebook page

02.08.2010 (9:39 pm) – Filed under: News

Please check it here: Avira on Facebook

Goodbye Twitterfeed.com, Hello HootSuite.com (updated)

02.07.2010 (9:04 am) – Filed under: News

Until now, I used Twitterfeed.com to publish several RSS Feeds to Ping.fm and from there to several social media networks like Twitter, Linkedin, Facebook, Yahoo and Flickr.

For quite some time now, TwitterFeed is no longer compatible with Ping.fm.

I’ve been quite patient and supportive with both Ping.fm and Twitterfeed.com . I even created bugs for them at GetSatisfaction.com. Still no result… Only “we know there is a problem, we are working on it.”. Well,guys, have fun ! Because I’m not having anymore.

So, it is now time to say Goodbye to Twitterfeed.com, and say Hello HootSuite.com.

Hootsuite is able to publish on all social media networks above and also on Ping.fm.
Because I like to be able to control everything from one place, I will continue for now to use Ping.fm.
But, it is nice to know that there are alternatives.

Follow me on
Twitter – www.Twitter.com/sorinmustaca,
LinkedIn – http://de.linkedin.com/in/sorinmustaca,
Facebook – http://www.facebook.com/sorin.mustaca, Yahoo and Flickr – http://www.flickr.com/photos/msorin.

Update:
Hootsuite.com has cancelled the free support and now they allow only paid support for those who have more than 3 feeds.
I had to come back to twitterfeed which also officially removed the support for ping.fm

Facebook and Twitter Phishing (on first sight)

20.05.2010 (5:51 pm) – Filed under: General,Spam & Phishing

The source of the articles is in the Avira Techblog:
Twitter Phishing (on first sight)
Facebook Phishing (on first sight)

Twitter

Over the weekend our spam traps received a massive wave of emails looking like the one below:
phish

The emails seem to stem from “Twitter Support” (support@twitter.com) and are addressed each to exactly one unique email address. The link in the email seems to be unique for each email sent, too. Quite an effort to make the email look more legitimate. The target link is always a compromised website holding an html page.

Amazon: Bestsellers Electronics and Photo

After clicking on the URL, a multiple stage redirection takes place. On some of these redirection websites, the intermediate page raises alerts because our engine detects encrypted content in JS.

Finally comes the surprise: The target website at the end of the redirects is not a phishing website but a Canadian online pharmacy.
img1

For me personally this was a “Wow!” moment. Why did the spammers choose to send the emails as Twitter phishing? I think that the explanation is simple – they did it because nobody did it before.

As usual, users of the Avira Premium Security Suite and the users of our gateway products have no reasons to fear: the emails are detected as phishing and all target URLs are blocked.

Facebook

Three weeks ago, our spam traps received massive amounts of spam mails which looked much more like Twitter phishing. This Twitter scheme obviously doesn’t work anymore, as we now are seeing plenty of mails which look like Facebook phishing.

The mails seem to stem from “Facebook” and use unique sender addresses that look like “notification+@facebookmail.com”.
mail
Some observations about the current spam mails:

* Almost all the spams we’ve seen come from Russia (the “received” headers show that the sender sits in russian networks)
* There is always a fake Message-ID similar to the one from Facebook :
* The header “X-Mailer: ZuckMail [version 1.00]” is always the same
* There is an additional X-header called Errors-To with another email address at Facebook “notification+@facebookmail.com”

Amazon: Bestsellers Electronics and Photo

We asked ourselves why the cyber criminals do so much hassle with creating a phishing email in order to get redirected to an online pharmacy website. There are PROs and CONs if someone sends phishing emails using sites like Twitter and Facebook:

PRO: Using these sites which each having at least 100 million users worldwide, the spammers have the possibility to reach a huge audience. If even a 0.01% of the people buy something from those websites, then the operation was a success.

CON: Sending such a primitive phishing is a very bad idea because it is very simple to detect it. Practically, there is clear indication of phishing even for basic detection algorithms like those in Thunderbird.

img

Bottom line, the spammers are just trying everything to get some attention and therewith purchasers.

Short link: http://wp.me/p1Ipp-7s
Amazon: Bestsellers Electronics and Photo

Using ping.fm

28.08.2009 (10:15 am) – Filed under: News

I have to many services which I like to use: Facebook, LinkedIn, Twitter, this blog and others.

But how can I keep them synchronized ? I can’t… because they are just too different.

I found by mistake a service which can… It is called Ping.fm and it actually works : I write in one place something and it is automatically posted in all the above websites.

This is cool…
Expect more infos from me ;)

What's wrong with Facebook ?

13.04.2008 (9:46 pm) – Filed under: General

Is there something wrong going on with Facebook at the time I publish this post?

The website behaves abnormally slow and I had to click 2-3 time on some buttons until the changes were applied.

If somebody received from me 2 (or more) invitations to connect, sorry… it is from this strange effect.

Initially I thought it is from my laptop, but it isn’t.